WHAT I SEE

I see the moonlight cutting through the densely scattered leaves

Making faces on the ground

The faces beckon me to touch their cheeks

But I don’t, no I don’t

 

I see faces staring back at me

A sea of faces, laden with expectations

Asking questions that they hope I would answer

But I don’t, no I don’t

 

I see mothers walking away from their children

Children, wanting nothing more than their mothers

With hungry bellies, asking to be fed

But I don’t, no I don’t

 

I see victims of my social conscience

The monsters we create when we know too much

Unloved, unwanted, untouched by the alternate realities

I don’t know what’s worse, no I don’t

Trizah Fay © 2017

 

Leave a Reply

